JSR75 and zip-file problems

Started by heikok, 11. October 2009, 18:00:33

Previous topic - Next topic

heikok

Hi,

I just upgraded my dictionary from 3.3 beta to 3.4 and started to play around with the file-connection system:

a) Some mobiles (i.e. Nokia) don't allow jar-files to be larger than 500kB. They don't allow them to appear on the device, so I cannot use them as file-input. Having a zip files > 500kB is no problem. The FileConnection api should test for files with .zip ending, too, and handle them the same as .jar files. (Maybe it should just test, if the file is a directory, then use JSR75InputStream, and for everything else just use the ZipInputStream? But I have never worked with JSR75 before, so I don't know if a directory test exists.)

b) The zip-input-stream seems to have a bug. My dictionary is > 3MB uncompressed. When using a .jar file-connection with a uncompressed jar file (jar -cf0), it works well. When using a compressed .jar file (jar -cf), the file is only 1MB, but Suns WTK2.5.2 throws a ArrayIndexOutOfBounds exception (without further information). So I guess it's a problem in the decompression-code.

The dictionary (still with the 3.3beta code) can be downloaded at: http://www.heinzelnisse.info/Downloads/get_it/HeinzelnisseForMIDs/

Best regards,

Heiko

Gert

Heiko,

thank you for testing the 'loadable dictionaries' !

a) Does that mean that you cannot simply copy a Jar file e.g. on some Nokias ? I mean, not installing the Jar file, just copying the Jar file on the device. This does not work ? Strange. What device does have this behaviour ?
But if you rename the file to a .zip then it works, right ?

Yes it is possible to distinguish between files and dictionaries.