Clarification about multiple source dictionary instructions

Started by Daloun, 16. September 2011, 22:14:38

Previous topic - Next topic

Daloun

Hi to everyone, I'm new to all this, but very interested in making dictionaries despite the fact I have little computer experience.

I have a few questions about setting up a multiple source dictionary as described here http://dictionarymid.sourceforge.net/newdictMultiple.html

I've managed to get the ABC>XYZ>ABC dictionary working, but what I really want is the ABC>XYZ XYZ>DEF one. So far, I'm struggling badly trying to follow the instructions.

1. How do I generate the second input dictionary file? I already have one named 'Dictionary_input' with my language1>language2 word list, but how do I get the other? Do I just create a new text file and save it in the 'Dict' folder alongside the other one, then write my second word list there? What would I name that file if the first one is already called 'Dictionary_input'?

2. I'm having great trouble understanding Step 2. Which properties file is the 'ouputted' one? At that point I end up with 3 properties files. One in the 'DictionaryEngGer' folder following the example, one in the 'Dictionary' folder and one in the 'Dict' folder.

3. Which is the 'final' DictionaryForMIDs.properties file?

4. In the very last instruction before Step 3 where it says 'copy one line into the DictionaryForMIDs.properties file'. Which lines are copied from where to where exactly? I can't make sense of it for some reason or another.

5. What does running the JarCreator tool entail? Does it just mean clicking on the setup file in the 'Dict' folder? I know it's in the tools folder, but clicking on it doesn't seem to do anything.